The Mahurangi Magazine

Select Page

2018–2019 committee nominations to hand

by 5 Nov 2018Committee0 comments

Rachel Lampen

New Nominee: Rachel Lampen

Ahead of the 14 November annual general meeting, nine nominations have been received for Mahurangi Action Incorporated’s 2018–2019 committee:

Tessa Berger (as president incumbent) entrepreneur, Rodney Local Board member, chair of Mahurangi Coastal Trail Trust nominated by Hugh Gladwell, seconded by Jim Dollimore

Cimino Cole (as secretary incumbent) Mahurangi Magazine editor, secretary of Mahurangi Coastal Trail Trust nominated by Hugh Gladwell, seconded by Jim Dollimore

Jim Dollimoreincumbent managing director of Biomarine nominated by Hugh Gladwell, seconded by Tessa Berger

Hugh Gladwellincumbent legal consultant, trustee of Jane Gifford Trust and Mahurangi River Restoration Trust nominated by Tessa Berger, seconded by Cimino Cole

Allison Milne

New Nominee: Allison Milne

Rachel Lampen environmental management nominated by Cimino Cole, seconded by Megan Beard

Cluny Macpherson emeritus professor, Massey University nominated by Cimino Cole, seconded by Stuart Charlton

Allison Milne marketing manager nominated by Cimino Cole, seconded by Stuart Charlton

Caitlin Owston-Doyleincumbent film crew and stunt woman nominated by Cimino Cole, seconded by Jim Dollimore

Clynt Whiteincumbent landscape architect and urban designer nominated by Hugh Gladwell, seconded by Jim Dollimore

Further nominations, of course are welcome, particularly for the vacant position of treasurer—not least of all to spare the secretary working beyond his competence preparing the annual financial statement unsupervised. Although Mahurangi Action’s rules stipulate a minimum number, the maximum size of the committee is up to the annual general meeting, which means that all nominations, of financial members, will likely be accepted:

Become a member of Mahurangi Action Incorporated


Join or renew online.
Membership fees: $10 for individual; $20 for family; and, bless them, many also make a donation.


Mahurangi Action milestones mark some significant achievements

Updated 6 November 2018
Founded, as Friends of the Mahurangi
Tribunal recommends Warkworth wastewater be excluded from the Mahurangi River
Revived the Mahurangi Regatta
Supported Mahurangi West-led campaign that saw off plans to build a road to Te Muri and park up to 2000 cars behind its beach
Conducted poll on aspirations for Mahurangi in 25 years
Publication of Dr Ronald Locker’s 416-page Jade River : A History of the Mahurangi
Successful High Court defence of the public’s entitlement to access Jamieson Bay
Revival of the Mahurangi Regatta Prize-Giving Dance
Leading role in supporting Auckland Regional Council’s Mahurangi Action Plan
Mahurangi Magazine goes online
Establishment of first scientifically designed trials demonstrating that forestry-style nursery methods could slash the cost of raising indigenous plants
Leading role in developing Mahurangi Action Plan: A strategic plan for the catchment 2010–2030
With property holder, establishment of the Mahurangi Farm-Forestry Trail
Warkworth Sediment Improvements Pilot Phase I
Preservation of car-free Te Muri, forever
Culmination of 42-year bid to see council commitment to exclude Warkworth wastewater from the Mahurangi river and harbour
First Mahurangi Regatta held with new, long-term principal sponsor, Teak Construction
Submitted only proposal—for two local boards to replace the current Rodney Local Board—deemed a reasonably practicable option to Auckland’s governance arrangements
Inaugurated, with One Warkworth and supported by Mahurangi Matters, the Warkworth Town Hall Talks
Initiated, with philanthropist member, Mahurangi-based green-lipped mussel reef restoration research project
Initiated, with the Mahurangi River Restoration Trust, ‘Up the Mahu!’



Receive Mahurangi Magazine updates

Join the mailing list to be notified of new pages.

Thank you for subscribing to Mahurangi Magazine!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This