The Mahurangi Magazine

Select Page

Nominate someone as 2020 Mayor of Mahurangi

by | 24 Sep 2019 | Local, STV | 0 comments

Ayla Walker, Warkworth market, Oaks on Neville

Sort-of As Seen on Spinoff: Likely to be declared a Rodney Local Board member two months ahead of the first Mayor of Mahurangi election, Ayla Walker sportingly agreed to be the first person nominated as Mayor of Mahurangi and is currently urging her fellow local board candidates to similarly accept nomination. image Spinoff | Mahurangi Magazine

Friend of the Mahurangi J Barry Ferguson has long argued the need for a local mayor.

Mayors, to be legitimate, need to be elected by preference voting—known as stvsingle-transferable-vote in Aotearoa, and known as rcvranked-choice-voting in the United States, where Barry resided until retiring to his country of birth. The need for a useful demonstration of stv to appropriately mark the bicentennial of its first use, on 17 December, is impeccably met by combining with the inaugural Mayor of Mahurangi election…

  • Nominations for the Mayor of Mahurangi

    are always open, except on 17 December—polling day

    Nominees to date in order nominated:

    Ayla Walker | Cimino Cole | Paul Manton | Beth Houlbrooke

Receive Mahurangi Magazine updates

Join the mailing list to be notified of new pages.

Thank you for subscribing to Mahurangi Magazine!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This