The Mahurangi Magazine

Select Page

2019 Mahurangi Regatta programme

Regatta 2019

Teak Construction logo

Teak Construction, principal sponsor
solidly resourcing the Mahurangi Regatta
for the fourth year and the first ‘Up the Mahu!’

2019 Regatta Day Saturday 26 January

C elebrating the 42nd anniversary of the regatta revival by Mahurangi Action, and the first ‘Up the Mahu!’
Race organiser, since 1990, is the Mahurangi Cruising Club.

Friday Night-Race to Mahurangi

3 pm
Classic A and Modern Classics
3.05 pm
Classic B and Woollacott Series
3.10 pm
B Division – Hyslop Cup
6 pm
A Division – Barometer Trophy
Sailing Instructions
Anchorage note
Chart of the Mahurangi Harbour

Eight-Nautical-Mile Up the Mahu: Even if fewer than a third of the thousand or so craft that attend the Mahurangi Regatta form the eight-nautical-mile flotilla from the heads of the Mahurangi Harbour to its tidehead at Warkworth, filmed professionally by drone, this would produce a stunning visual record. A big ask of regatta-going skippers maybe, but it also buys bragging rights along the lines of “We were aboard the first Up-the-Mahu!—the first two-day Mahurangi Regatta!” chart Land Information New Zealand | annotation Mahurangi Magazine

Mahurangi Regatta

42nd anniversary of regatta revival by Mahurangi Action
160th anniversary of the first-recorded Mahurangi Regatta
Generally held at Sullivans Bay*
*In the event of strong easterly wind, sailing entries will be taken at Scotts Landing
*In the event of strong easterly wind and/or heavy rain, shoreside events will be cancelled.
Low tide 5.58 am (-1.42 m above mean level of sea)
High tide 12.17 pm (1.46 m)
Low tide 6.33 pm (-1.33 m)
High tide 12.43 am (1.24 m)

9–10 am
Registrations for Classic Launch Parade
9–11.30 am
Entries for sailing events
9–11 am
Launching of trailered boats entered in regatta, at Sullivans Bay
9.30–11.30 am
The Jane Gifford assumes her station as start boat
10.30 am
Classic Launch Parade—best viewed, and commentary heard, from southern half of beach
11 am
Shoreside events begin—running, sack, three-legged, and spud and spoon (enter by presenting at starting line)
12 pm
Master of the Mahurangi
Sailing events commence:
Sailing Programme
Sailing Instructions
Course for strong easterlies
channel 77
12.40 pm
Te Haupa Trophy
Smokefree logo

Mahurangi Regional Park and all 28 other region parks are smoke free. Next challenge, fossil-free, might not be quite so easy.

12.50 pm
Frostbites, Mistrals and Zephers
1.00 pm
Reactor and H28
1.20 pm
1.40 pm
Mahurangi Cup, L-Classmullet boats, and Traditional Spirit Trophy
2 pm
Modern Classics
1 pm–2.30 pm
Sand sculpture. Divisions for under 7 years, 7 to 11 years, 12 to 16 years, adults
2 pm
Shoreside events resume—swimming, kayak, open (sit-on) kayak, and, possibly, dinghy, blindfold boat, lost-the-dinghy-oars, rowed inflatable etc.— and any other event suggested that seems a good idea at the time!water run, egg throwing (enter by presenting at starting line)
3.30 pm–4.30 pm
Retrieval of trailered boats entered in regatta, at Sullivans Bay
4 pm
4.15 pm
Humongous annual egg-throwing competition
4.30 pm
Lolly scramble (grand finale of shoreside events)
Free shuttle bus 900 metres sign

For the First Time in 2019: Fortunately, most of the more than a thousand people who attend the Mahurangi Regatta prize giving and dance do so by water. For those forced to arrive by road, the free, midday-to-midnight regatta shuttlebus proper-civilises access to Scotts Landing proper. This year, for the first time ever, paddock parking—free paddock parking!—is also laid on. design Mahurangi Magazine

Mahurangi Regatta Prize-Giving and Dance

Held at Scotts Landing
Revived by Mahurangi Action in 2004 in the form of a regatta ball as the grand finale of Warkworth’s 150th celebrations, then as a prize-giving dance—the traditional format—from the following year. In 2011, ex-tropical cyclone Wilma cancelled the regatta, and in 2012 a combination of mediocre weather and a lack of financial support precluded the event, but from 2014, largely thanks to the support of Auckland Council’s regional events fund, and finally from 2016 thanks to the long-term commitment of a significant sponsor—Teak Construction—the future of the prize-giving dance, and the regatta itself, is now secure.
Free use of gas barbecues—no ‘bar and burgers’ since 2010
There is no longer a cash bar nor burgers for sale. From 2013, the format returned to that of the prize-giving dance that prevailed before the regatta lapsed during World War II, when it was on bring-your-own basis. This makes the event much less financially risky, particularly when wild and/or wet weather intervenes, as it did, spectacularly, in 2011.

10 am–6 pm
In Scott Homestead: Axiomatic Landscapes and other stories of the Mahurangi
12 pm
Free midday-to-midnight Scotts Landing regatta shuttle commences operation. Primary run is the two kilometres of Ridge Road between paddock parking 125 metres north of Charles Street, and the landing, but the free shuttle will pick up and drop off anywhere within the Scotts Landing area. See below for driver’s cell phone numbers.
6 pm
Prize-giving dance commences, with musicians from the West City Jazz Orchestra
7 pm
Prize giving
8 pm
or earlier!—prize-giving dance resumes, with the full West City Jazz Orchestra
11 pm
Last dance
12 am
Last run by free regatta shuttle from Scotts Landing, all the way—for those who need it—to Mahurangi West.
Free-regatta-shuttle drivers and cells
12 pm
George Ireland +64 21 642 813
2 pm
Mark Croft +64 21 632 240
4 pm
Stuart Windross +64 27 863 3191
6 pm
Lex Marshall +64 21 125 6896
9 pm–midnight
Cimino Cole +64 27 462 4827
Sunday morning Mahurangi Return Race
10.30 am
Classic B and Modern B
11 am
Classic A and Modern A
Sailing Instructions


Sunday, day-after-the-regatta ‘Up the Mahu!’ flotilla

High tide 1.10 pm (1.34 metres above mean level of sea)

11.30 am
Booked passengers board the Jane Gifford at Scotts Landing jetty—fare to Warkworth is $25
12 pm
The Jane Gifford leads the dredging flotilla-of-support upriver to Warkworth
1.30 pm
The Jane Gifford arrives at Warkworth
1.30 pm–
Free regatta shuttlebus begins ferrying any folk who need to, back to Scotts Landing
2 pm
Pilot vessel departs Warkworth
4 pm
Slower pokes pass Scotts Landing on return
Channel 77

  • Up the Mahu!

    If you are aboard, or even slightly interested, please leave your email:

  • Mahurangi Regatta classic launch parade

    Craft muster off Scotts Landing at 10.15 am. Please register here, with the Classic Yacht Association:

Mahurangi Regatta supporters

Auckland Council
Browns Bay Boating Club
Bucklands Beach Yacht Club
Citywide Electrical
Classic Yacht Association
Corporate AV Services
Devonport Yacht Club
Gulf Harbour Yacht Club
Mahurangi Cruising Club—host club and race organiser
Mahurangi East Residents and Ratepayers Association—co-host of prize giving and dance
Mahurangi Oyster Farmers Association
Milford Cruising Club
New World Warkworth
One Warkworth
Panmure Yacht and Boating Club
Pine Harbour Cruising Club
Prestige Loos
pūhoi net +64 27 488 8124
Richmond Yacht Club
Rob Campbell Sound
Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron
Sandspit Yacht Club
Teak Construction—principal regatta sponsor
Weiti Boating Club

  • Sign on the 2021 Mahurangi Regatta crew

    Saturday 30 January 2021 – always Auckland Anniversary weekend Saturday
    If you are potentially aboard for any of the roles listed below, please leave your name and email:

Receive Mahurangi Magazine updates

Join the mailing list to be notified of new pages.

Thank you for subscribing to Mahurangi Magazine!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This